Pollak Vineyards: The Best is Yet to Come

This blog is in the midst of a significant transition to a new URL with a new name, new look, the whole nine yards.  In the meantime, here is a quick note on a lovely wine that is a sign of things to come from a relatively new winery.  Pollak Vineyards is a family-owned winery founded in 2003 just outside of Charlottesville, Virginia.  My wife and I happened upon it by chance shortly after its doors opened in 2008.  I remember being very impressed with the quality of the wine at such a young establishment.  A few nights ago I decided to put my tastes to the test by bringing a bottle of Pollak’s 2007 Estate Grown Viognier to a small gathering with some of my favorite wine fans.

Pollak

It was well received.  The wine was medium bodied and crisp, with a bright, fruit-forward palate and good acidity.  It went well with several different light foods, including tomatoes and fresh mozzarella, green salad with cherries and walnuts, and a bit of roast chicken.  Socializing distracted from more detailed notes; luckily, I can refer you to John for a full analysis.  The bottom line is this is a wine that can be enjoyed by experienced wine aficionados and newbies alike.

Of course, it’s been a year since I have been to Pollak, so they have a new vintage on sale.  If you are interested in trying their 2008 Viognier, you can find the tasting notes here.  I am down to one Pollak wine in my cellar, their 2006 Cabernet Franc.  I have noticed on their website that their 2007 Cab Franc is out, along with a 2007 Reserve.  I may need to find my way back down there before too long.

4 Stars
$18 per bottle

Published in: on July 6, 2009 at 8:41 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://winewithdinner.wordpress.com/2009/07/06/pollak-vineyards-the-best-is-yet-to-come/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. You must return! If you liked the Viognier, you will love the Pinot Gris! It’s been flying out of the tasting room. And for the red wine drinkers, they have released a new Merlot that is wonderful

    Erika


Leave a Reply

