You Can’t Spell Wedding Without W-I-N-E

A little while ago one of my best friends from college asked me to be in his wedding. I was honored to accept, at which point he asked a favor. While not a wine guy, my friend knew that he needed wine for the wedding. He asked me to help him and his lovely fiance pick out a red and a white that would not break the bank.

My first thought was to tour some local wineries here in Virginia, but my friend will be getting hitched a bit further south.  So, we decided to seek a source convenient to all involved.  After some discussion, we hopped in the car and headed to Total Wine & More in Alexandria.  After a thorough search and some tough decisions, we left with 3 whites and 2 reds.  We picked up a third red later while getting some cheese for our impromptu wine tasting at the Mecca of all things cheesy in Alexandria, Cheesetique.  A night of wining and cheesing ensued and, after thorough evaluations of the competitors, the winners were:

White
Oak GroveOak Grove 2007 Viognier Reserve 
(California)

Red
Don RamonDon Ramon 2006 Granache/Tempranillo (Campo de Borja, Spain)

These wines are great for a large party where tastes will vary and they will keep smiles on your guests’ faces without obliterating your bank account.

Published in: on May 14, 2009 at 9:38 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://winewithdinner.wordpress.com/2009/05/14/you-cant-spell-wedding-without-w-i-n-e/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I learned a valuable lesson that night: you’re supposed to take a little sip and spit it out, not DRAIN EVERY GLASS. DOWN YOUR THROAT.

  2. Viognier and Grenache, impressive and ecclectic selections! I’ve seen some really interesting bottlings from Campo de Borja, this is one I’ll have to find and try! Cheers!

  3. I don’t have a “lifestyle”. I am a human being with unalienable *********************rights, just as you have. I’ve been married for many years and have 3 adult children; that’s my lifestyle. ******************You could be a great Politician..you need to get your brain cells..lined up with what you really mean ; noone else knows. I do I dont ????


Leave a Reply

