Urban Burger Company: I Might Move to Maryland

Having gone to college at the University of Rochester, there are relatively few things that I miss about school — my friends, hockey . . . that’s about it. Oh, and the food. Late night appetizers at The Distillery were always something to look forward to, as was pizza from Chester Cab or dinner at Dinosaur BBQ. But nothing made my mouth water, and does to this day, like a Garbage Plate from Nick Tahou Hots. Now them’s some good eats! If anyone reading this is making a trip to Rochester, I can only plead with you to bring me back a Garbage Plate–cheeseburger patties, homefries, pasta salad, secret sauce, Italian bread, and grease. It does not get any better.

Garbage Plate
It’s a little fuzzy, but it is still a Garbage Plate. Mmmmmm . . . .

When I moved to D.C., I was hoping to find something comparable. Ollie’s Trolley is pretty good, and, believe it or not, I have STILL not been to Ben’s Chili Bowl, but other than that I have searched in vain . . . until now. This weekend, Mrs. Wine with Dinner and I drove up to Rockville, Maryland to help a couple of friends of ours (who are getting married this coming weekend) to paint their new condo. When I walked in, my first words were “Nice place.” Oh, how little I knew. After painting, as a thank you, our friends took us for a walk to the shopping center next door for dinner at a place called Urban Burger Company. I am fairly certain that it is the tip of God’s arrow fallen to Earth.

A brief look at the menu at Urban Burger reveals that it is a monument to three of the four food groups: meat, cheese, and grease. It may not be as, shall we say, rustic, as Nick’s, nor is it as dangerous to visit at night, but man does it produce some high quality, heavenly, artery clogging goodies. Urban Burger was founded by David Calkins and Lee Howard, the men behind Urban Burger’s predecessor restaurant, Urban Bar-B-Que Company. The atmosphere is comfortable, with Navy memorabilia on the walls and two TVs set to ESPN. Even more friendly is the 10% discount given to many community servants, including cops, firefighters, and teachers, as well as senior citizens.

Should you decide to drop in, I insist that you start with the “Slider” Soul Rolls. These are not your typical sliders, they are a ground beef, caramelized onions, and two cheeses wrapped in a crispy shell. As if they weren’t good enough on their own, they come with a bowl of Urban’s Redneck Fondue for dipping. The Fondue is a two meat chili with three cheese sauce. Next time I am there I may order 2 or 3 of these as a meal in and of themselves.

The burgers are also quality and the mac and cheese is to die for. In the final analysis, all you really need to know is that I had cheese with every potion of my meal except for my soda. Folks, it doesn’t get much better than this . . . at least until someone opens a Nick’s in Washington, D.C.

5 Stars
Less than $10.00 main course.

Urban Burger Co.
5566 Norbeck Road
Rockville, MD 20853

Published in: on April 22, 2007 at 1:49 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://winewithdinner.wordpress.com/2007/04/22/urban-burger-company-i-might-move-to-maryland/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Day sugar is often applied to sweeten ice product and frozen desserts in the Levant.
    Cinnamon extracts readily available beneath the brand title Cinnulin PF
    is no cost from coumarin and can be valuable to make improvements to cholesterol and take care of blood sugar.


Leave a Reply

